Commentary: 03/14/2024

Itemized, but typing as I think, so a bit unorganized.

1.) So, still trying out new coloring method. Just *barely* faster to finish than the old method, but I’m still in a time crunch so every little bit helps my fraying sanity. Still missing a way to properly convey depth. Also considering using old shading methods in combination with the new one for special/focus panels.

2.) Miniscule levels of hatching added to compensate for lack of shadows? Barely visible when page is prepped for publishing. My hatching is terrible, by the way.

IT’S LORE TIME, KIDS (Issue 3, Page 13)

a.) Who or what is ‘Blips’?
Rune called Erika ‘Blips’ once in issue 2, page 10. I haven’t worked the reason to why in in-comic dialogue, so I guess I’d better do it soon?

b.) Why is the shuttle yellow now when it was light purple in issue 2?
It’s VARELCAM (The armor camo used by Rune in issue 2). Applied in larger vehicles too, as they have better power output. As Rune and co. were doing illegal shit in issue 2, they changed ship colors to delay positive identification as the ship model is commonplace in-universe.

c.) Why is the Solid Shield effect different here than in issue 2?

In-universe, it’s the same. IRL explanation: redrawn to easily convey that a barrier is active.

Leave a comment